Hi there,

I wrote a VERY simply program attempting to use a recursive function to calculate a math problem and spit it out onto a table.

It prints once and then I'm getting a stack oveflow error on line 8 and then line 12:

package recurtable;

import java.text.*;

public class RecurTable {
    static int D(int n) 
    {
        if (n == 10 ) 
        {
          return 10;
        }
        return (D(n - 10) + n);
    }

public static void main(String[] args) {

System.out.println("\n n\t D(n))\t D(n)/(n*n)");

for (int n = 20; n <= 250; n++) 
      {
          int d_val = D(n);

DecimalFormat df = new DecimalFormat("#.####");

System.out.println(n + "\t" + d_val + "\t" + 
                  df.format(d_val/(n*n)));
      }
    }
}

I'm new to recursion, so I'm unsure what's wrong with the function. Thanks guys!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

the stackoverflow happens because of an infinite recursion

the value 10 is not the base value, you need to have a condition for the values less than 10 or at least less than or equal to 0

for example D(21) will result to D(9)+10 then (D(-1)+10)+10 and so on

Well, the base case is supposed to be that D(10) = 10.

I don't understand how D(21) would equal D(9) + 10? I look at it like this:

D(21) = D(21 - 10) + 21
then
D(11) + 21
then
D(-1) + 21

I know that is wrong, but why?

I don't truly understand how recursion is supposed to work, I was just trying it out with a random equation.

Thanks for your help!

whoops didn't notice my math error, sorry about the example that's not suppose to be D(9) but D(11) :$

anyway about the recursion you need a base case where the recursion will eventually lead to for all values passed on to it,
in your code if the value of int doesn't equal to 10 it will keep on running, The + n won't apply yet until a value is returned for D(), maybe make a base value where all numbers will eventually lead to like if it becomes less than or equal to 0