Hi all,

This is a Java question, despite the set up looking long!

I am writing a program that involves constructing and using the inverse of a large correlation matrix many times. Suppose you have a data matrix X with d columns representing d variables and n rows representing the different data points. A correlation matrix (R)_ij for the data is a matrix with R_ij = corr(X_i,X_j), where X_i means 'row i'. The type of correlation functions I use are purely based on the distance between the columns. E.g.

R_ij = prod_{k=1}^d exp{-c_k|X_ik - X_jk|^{p_k}}

where the powers p_k and constants c_k are known and input by the user. (These will change each time we construct the matrix).

OK that's the goal. I am an R programmer and the construction can be done very very quickly in R using the function dist(). What dist() does is give a matrix of distances between the X's without using loops. The without loops part is extremely important because loops are very very slow in R. So, in R you would first pre-scale the columns by c_k^(1/p_k). Then the code would look like

D <- dist(rep(1:n))
for(i in 1:d){ D = D+dist(X[,i])^p[k]}
exp{-D}

Note the product went into the exponent as a sum. OK that's super quick. About 1.5 seconds for a 3000x5 matrix (generating a 3000x3000 matrix).

The problem is that in the code I am writing, I have to do this (along with many other operations) thousands and thousands of times. Of course we can do that in R, but it takes too long. Loops are just bad in R. For example, making the matrix using a double loop the "obvious" way, takes 22 minutes for the same size matrix as dist does in 1.5s! So, impressed by the relative speed of java in loops, I decided to code there. I require fast cholesky decompositions, so have been using the jBLAS package and making my matrices DoubleMatrix types.

Here is my correlation function method. It requires jblas.

public static Double correlationFunction(DoubleMatrix x1, DoubleMatrix x2,