Hey there!
I am a new student that wants to be a GOAT of Developing, I don't know anything about Java.

But by watching I downloaded Eclipse IDE for Java Developers but don't know how does it work :D
I have also downloaded Java Program or Files from http://www.java.com/

Can you just tell me how to get started?
I followed some tutorials but stuck on first line that they include some plugins or libraries, Where do I get it?
Firstly I want to make a simple calculator but there was something called "swing" what is it?

Please help me set environment for Java Developing and I will find my way ahead, Also Should I use Net Beans or Eclipse?

-Thanks, Dev.Waleed

EDIT: What is Class in Java?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I suggest that you start with a simple editor and use the javac and java commands in a console window before learning how to use an IDE.
See the tutorial about how to create some simple programs: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/getStarted/cupojava/index.html

When you are able to write, compile and execute some simple java programs, then chose an IDE.

commented: second that. +14

If i were you i would 1st get my hands on a web design program, for example: Dreamweaver. Now 2nd. get your hands on a HTML, java, CSS etc book example: Learning Web Design and that is how i would get started with it, you gotta know the other basics to know java.

hopefully this was of some help unless i completly miss understodd the question ( i am a n00b yeah.. )

if you are a beginner, ignore Swing.
Chrizur: it is possible (even better) not to use illegal software. the JDK is free for download, so are the most used IDE's.

anyway: I'm with NormR1 on this. if you're just beginning, use the command prompt and a simple text editor. an IDE will just "hide" a lot of the tasks you should be aware of. you won't learn how to decently develop applications, you'll just learn how to use that particular IDE.