A few days ago, i made a hangman game and I really want to complete it in any aspect. One of my ideas now is to "import" words from a file. Currently what I have is an Array of Strings (just a few words inside for testing) and what I want is a file containing those 2:
Word Hint
word1 Hint1 with spaces
word2 Hint2 with spaces

What I am wondering now is can I import the file and all its context into an array maybe? and then when the game starts use regular expressions such as randomly take a row from the size of the file , then write to the GUI as the word to guess the contense of the row up to the first empty space and then after the space write the contense as Hint area in the GUI. I've had some experience with regular expressions, would they be able to give me the word/hint ? Or any other ways would be appreciated. Also, if this won't work what about 1 file hints, 1 file words, import into ArrayLists and then just get the index of a word and use the same index to get the hint from the other arraylist?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Separating words and hints is a forumla for update chaos.
Just read the file 1 line at a time. Get the index of the first " " and use that to substring the word and the rest of the line (the hint). Store them in 2 ArrayLists (or create a class to hold them both if you want to be clever). They won't occupy much storage.

Then use random ints to index into the arraylists to get a word and hint.

No need for REGEXs

Second thoughts:
Previous post does too much messing around from the List too early. Here's a better suggestion:
Just use Files.readAllLines(Path p) to get all the data into a List, then use random ints to pick lines, and then split the chosen lines into word/remainder.

Hey James ... I am trying to make any communication at all to my file, currently this is what I have

import java.io.BufferedReader;
import java.io.FileReader;
import java.io.IOException;

public class ReadFile {

public static void main(String[] args) {