Hello,

This may not be the right forum for this but here goes...I am a student and am taking programming classes( JAVA ). It seems that I can compile my programs but cannot run them. My professor said my path was incorrect and gave me the correct path settings. I edited my path and made it exactly the same as the path he showed me. I still get nothing. I have not installed or uninstalled anything within months..What is funny is last year when I started this it ran and compiled fine. Then it would only run applets..now it runs nothing. The funny thing is my professor told me the way my path was nothing should have compiled or ran..After I change it..nothing runs..I tried changing it back to my old path but it still only compiles andwill not run.
I am using j2sdk1.4.1 on winxp servicepack1. The error reads Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError:
My major problem I have a Final project and know way to test my code please help. :sad: :sad:

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Tell me where your java installation is located on your hard drive.
it should be a folder something like j2sdk-xxxxx.

Also tell me if there is a folder called bin within j2sdk-xxxxx. Then tell me if there is a program called java.exe in there.

You can also install netbeans or eclipse. IDEs usually do the right thing.

Hope you can get back on your feet soon!

Ed

Hello again,

Thanks for responding so quicky...

C:\j2sdk1.4.1 is where the folder is....
C:\j2sdk1.4.1\bin lies within the C:\j2sdk1.4.1 folder...

and yes...the java.exe is in the bin folder....

:sad: :sad:

Go to where your program is and

try C:\j2sdk1.4.1\bin\java YourProgram
or C:\j2sdk1.4.1\jre\bin\java YourProgram

Let me know what happens and what error you get when you do this.

Ed

Hello again,

Thanks for responding so quicky...

C:\j2sdk1.4.1 is where the folder is....
C:\j2sdk1.4.1\bin lies within the C:\j2sdk1.4.1 folder...

and yes...the java.exe is in the bin folder....

:sad: :sad:

Hello Ed,