Hi

Basically I've got the following code.
- What it does is it takes two input the itemName and the sectionName
- checks if the input is equal to any item in the list (test database) and increment it
- prints the modified list

It does what it needs to do but when I try to increment the amount of sales for apple the output doubles the record of the apple. someone told me that I should try list comprehension but got no idea of how to use it, im a total beginner and would appreciate a step by step explanation :)

Input Code:

items :: [Grocery]
items = [("Water", "Drink Section", 1),
         ("Squash", "Drink Section", 1),
         ("Apple", "Fruit Section", 1),
         ("Plates", "Disposable Section", 1),
         ("Plates", "Ceramic Section", 1)]

sales:: [database] -> String -> String-> [database]
sales db itemName sectionName = []
sales ((item, section, qty): xs) itemName sectionName 
     | item == itemName && section== sectionName = [(item, section, qty + 1)] sales xs itemName sectionName
     | otherwise = sales xs itemName sectionName

Current Output:

[("Apple", "Fruit Section", 2),
 ("Water", "Drink Section", 1),
 ("Squash", "Drink Section", 1), 
 ("Apple", "Fruit Section", 1),
 ("Plates", "Disposable Section", 1),
 ("Plates", "Ceramic Section", 1)]

Thank You!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I can't reproduce the behavior you're describing.

Your code doesn't produce the output you say it does - your code doesn't even compile. If I correct the code's syntax error, the result will always be the empty list because you have overlapping cases with the less specific case coming first. If I rearrenge the order of your cases, I get the correct output and no entries are duplicated.