Hi-
I am completely new at programming. In fact, I haven't even started classes yet, just reading an old second-hand book on QBASIC. I've gotten to a part where it tells me how to get into QBASIC and how to write a sample program. At the DOS prompt, I typed in the command the book gave me and apparently my system does not seem to have QBASIC files at all. I tried both QBASIC and QBASIC.exe. Is there something I'm doing wrong or something I can download to get my computer to be compatible with what I'm trying to learn? Hopefully someone can help me out because I'm totally lost here. And please not too much technical wording. I can understand most but not a lot of it. Like I said I'm really new. :confused:

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

First search for Qbasic.exe on your computer.
Qbasic was included starting with DOS version 5.0 and was also on the Win95 and Win98(i think) CD-ROMs.

If you find it, be sure that either you are in the folder containing Qbasic.exe when you are at the prompt or that it in the Path. (type Path from the prompt to see the directories included).

If you don't find it, then you can get it from the internet. simply do a search for it from
any search engine. Many of the QuickBasic sites will either have it or a link to it.

Yes use a search engine like google and get Qbasic 4.5, its better than the qbasic that comes with dos or windows. You make programs that run outside the IDE

i have been running q basic in xp for months, and rfecently, msdos will not run, i am getting the error message, 16bit msdos subsystem, and the file is not suitable for msdos or windows applications, any ideas

Try going to properties of QBX.exe, click memory, set EMS to None, everything else to Auto and check uses HMA. You don't set compatibility to windows 95 or 98, and you can check the "close on exit" (optional), and then click OK. The system automatically creates the qbx.pif file that has the same attributes.