I'm a college student about to graduate, and I would love to get a job in programming. Unfortunately, I chose Information Technology as my major instead of Computer Science which focuses more on programming.

I've been watching video tutorials series on thenewboston.com. The first was about 90 videos on basic java, then another 30 videos on advanced java, and now I'm in the middle of watching the 200 video series on Android Application development. I feel like I am not learning anything. To me, Java went from logic to just memorization. In every video, he imports classes and types out new methods with different parameters, and instead of explaining how things work, he just types and and shows you how to do it.

I know there's always this site: http://developer.android.com/guide/index.html which lists all the classes and methods etc. But is that the way to go? Should I just read through the whole thing and try to memorize everything? I feel overwhelmed being that there are literally thousands of methods. Do programmers memorize things or do they constantly use something for reference?

Is there any good book or guide that will actually teach me Java? I'm curious to know how you guys learned. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

NO you should be writing your mini projects and that way you will learn basic components by heart and will have some general idea about existence of other components or general packages in API.Watching video or reading books is not enough, you need to practice especially in Android development. If you can not prove you are able to write application and have something on market or at least something publicly accesible like github, you are less likely to get offer or even catch attention

What kind of mini projects can I write?