Hi, I am working on a multiple layer encryption program for my school IT project. Right now the message runs through a Caesar cipher (which the user can select the shift of), it reverses the message and then it reverses the bits of each character, making various symbols come out.

Now I want to add another encryption for it to run through. I want the user to enter a keyword into edtKode, so that the message is encrypted in such a way that it can only be decrypted if the end user also has that keyword. This will happen before the bits are reversed, but after the string itself is reversed. All I want is some examples as to how this can be implemented as well as perhaps some code. I'm still a very basic programmer, but I understand if functions, for loops etc.

Also, any other ideas for ciphers through which the message can go to become even more secure would be apprecated.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Unfortunately your encruyption is very weak, as it uses sequence of three operations to map single letters to single letters keeping the letter frequencies of the original message. These could be replaced by doing a single lookup table for each non-ascii letter value 0..255 and for each possible shift for Ceasar -12..13 for the ascii letters.

A stronger simple encryption would be for example simply having a password from user to generate seed number to random number generator by some nice function so slightly different passwords would generate very different seed numbers. Generator could then be used to generate number 0...255 for XOR encrypting the message. That would be quite strong if same password would never be reused.