I am relatively new to perl, and I'm having a problem with loops. I'm trying to get a program for a simple number guessing game to repeat itself until you get the right number. Here is the code:

#!/usr/bin/perl -w

$thinkingof = int(rand 10);
print "Pick a number 0 to 10\n";
$guess = <STDIN>;
chomp $guess;

$count = 0;

while ($guess != $thinkingof && $count < 1){
	if ($guess > $thinkingof){
		print "You guessed too high.\n";
		}
	elsif ($guess < $thinkingof){
		print "You guessed too low.\n";
		}
	else {
		print "You guessed right.\n";
		}
	$count++;
	}

I have tried several different things, like (for the end)

while ($guess != $thinkingof){
		print "You guessed too high.\n";
		}
		print "You guessed too low.\n";
		}
	else {
		print "You guessed right.\n";
		}
	next if ($guess != $thinkingof)
	}

...and such, but nothings working. Usually, I get the "You guessed too high/low" message over and over. How do you prevent this from happening in a loop? Am I using the wrong kind of loop? Is there some sort of statement I don't know about? Any help will be appreciated.
By the way, if it's something that has to do with how you format it, and not a certain statement, please give me a hint; don't just tell me.
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

have you tried outputting the value of $thinkingof during each guess? This will help you to at least ensure that the randomness works.

You mean like this?

if ($guess < $thinkingof){
        print "You guessed higher than $thinkingof.\n";
}

I tried that, and the randomness is working; each time, it's a different number.

aha, maybe you should put the entire thing inside of the while loop ;)

I agree with Comatose, you should probably put the part that prompts for and accepts new input inside the loop somehow. That way as the loop is run again you ask for input again.

The psuedo-code looks something like:

• While the user has not guessed the number
  • Prompt for a guess
  • Accept the guess