I am creating a script that allows me to calculate the future value of an investment at the end of x years, but I am having a little trouble writing the summation syntax in my script. I am not familar with the sum syntax so I do not know how it works. Any suggestions on how I should type it out? As you can see, I am new to Python.

def main():
    print "This program calculates the future value"
    print "of a 10-year investment."
    principal = input("Enter the amount invested each year: ")
    interest_rate = input("Enter the annual interest rate: ")
    year = input("Enter the number of years: ")
    for i in range(1,year+1):
        value = sum(principal * (1 + interest_rate)**i)  #error here =(
        print "The value in" , i , "years is" , value

main()

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

sum(sequence)

you are not giving it a sequence

I agree with Sillyboy, sum is not a syntax, it's a function which applies to a sequence. Here I think that the expression that you put in the sum is the value of your investment, so you can simply drop the sum. However I think your program is confusing because you say that the principal is invested each year.

for i in range(year):
  principal  += principal * interest_rate

- Have fun!

I am trying to make my program to display the accumulative value for each year and not just displaying the future value for that year alone. For example, I am trying to turn the summation formula into my loop in Python
n
E principal * (1+interest_rate)^i
i=1
The E is the summation sign. And for the confusion in my program, my instructor wanted the program to look exactly like that. Please advise.