As I said before im new to python and stink at math(great combination huh?)

Well I've looked at Thinking in Tkinter but I still don't fully understand the concept of classes.

Could you provide any help\tutorials on this subject?

Help Appreciated :cheesy:

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

This is a nice beginners tutorial and has a decent section on classes in it:
http://www.byteofpython.info/

As the complexity of your programs increase, classes come handy. In simple words, a class groups functions together and gives the functions (now called methods) additional idendity, a way to pass parameters amongst themselves and a unified way to access parameters from outside the class. One class can inherit from another class without having to rewrite a lot of code.

I know this is a mouthful, but is something you start doing, as you advance in your programming skills.

BTW, nobody stinks at math! I thought I did, until I met the right inspiring teacher! It's tough to find a motivating math teacher when he or she make barely enough money to survive.

Heh. Nobody understands classes the first time around. When I was learning this stuff in Java, it took me about six months and 10+ OO* programs before I fully grokked what I was doing.

Reading up on classes is great, but if you really want to understand them, you have to use them. Many colleges put assignment specs for their computer science intro courses on the web for all to see, and often, these assignments are stripped down to illuminate a specific feature of classes or objects. You could try grabbing these specs and implementing the assignments in Python.

* OO: Object-oriented: describes programs which work by the manipulation of classes and objects.