Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and I am also new to Python and coding in general. While I've gotten through basic tutorials on most general topics of Python such as series, dictionary, parameters, loops, and so forth I am still very much a newbie (as you will see in this program I attempted)

My boss at work wanted me to solve a simple math problem in order to help her create a new budget based on a recent grant our organization received. I eventually just did it the basic math way, however I wanted to test out my Python abilities so I tried to make a program to solve it.

Can someone please help me figure out how to get this code to work?

##Solve situation when: one fixed, one variable, one total of fixed + variable
##The OtherSub must be 75% of Total, the Contribution must stay fixed
##The Total can increase but not decrease

Contribution = input('Enter the fixed amount: ')
Other = input('Enter the other variable amount: ')
Total = Contribution + Other

##Putting a = 3. allows for .75 whereas simply 3/4 would give 0
a = 3.
b = 4
c = a / b

While Other / Total <= c:
    print Other
    print Other / Total
    OtherSub + 1
If OtherSub / Total == c:
    print 'The new Other Subtotal is ' + Other

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Well, there are two issues

1. You can just do this with introductory level algebra, and you should.
  2. You have a variable OtherSub that is never initialized, and even if it were, you should be saying OtherSub += 1 at line 17 (I think you meant)

For option 1, If I understand correctly, there are only two terms: Fixed and Variable. You can say

Variable == .75 * (Fixed + Variable)
=> Variable == .75*Fixed + .75*Variable # distribute the multiplication
=> .25 Variable == .75 Fixed # subtract .75*Variable from both sides
=> Variable == 3*Fixed # multiply both sides by 4

I would skip option 2.

Hi all,