Hello,

I would like to stress that this is for personal practice and nothing school or assignment related.

The question:

Create a function countPages(x) that takes the number of pages of a book as an argument and counts the number of times the digit '1' appears in the page number.

(topic 5 - q 4 at pyschools.com)

My code:

def addNumbers(x):
    finalsum = list()
    theSum = 0
    i = 1
    while i <= x:
       theSum = theSum + i
       i = i + 1
       finalsum.append(theSum)
       return finalsum

I'm a beginner and I cannot seem to understand the reason of two things:

1) I'm trying to understand how to make it calculate the entire sum and produce one output. for example addnumber(10) = 55. with me it shows all the lists, and even if i do splicing (-1] it doesn't work.
2) why do I recieve a different output when i use "return" and "print" in this function?

could somebody please guide me through understanding this question? these concepts?

Thank you kindly.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Sorry, but I do not see the connection of your code and task as I understand it:

def one_count(n):
	return str(n).count('1')
def sum_of_ones(total):
	 return sum(one_count(page) for page in range(1,1+total))

print(sum_of_ones(10))
print(sum_of_ones(55))
""" Output:
"""

Hi.

It's under the while loop section of training so I reckoned I had to do this using a while loop.

I looked at your code and I am not even near that level :( lol

You can use while loop if you like, makes simpler to come down from last page then:

def one_count(n):
    return str(n).count('1')

def sum_of_ones(total):
    count = 0
    while total>0:
        count += one_count(total)
        total -= 1
    return count

print(sum_of_ones(10))
print(sum_of_ones(55))

""" Output:
"""

If you need more while, you can do away using str function and do the count by modulo arithmetic:

def one_count(n):
    count = 0
    while n>0:
        n, r = divmod(n, 10)
        count += r == 1