I am a newbie to python. I am just working on a program to count number of letters in each words of a sentence. That includes punctuation too. If the sentence is "This is it!" my program should give "4 2 3". First I thought I can convert this string into word list and then count the letters of the word but I am totally lost on that. Later used string.split() to count the number of words. But still couldn't figure out how to calcuate the number of letters in a word that I splitted.

I would appreciate if someone teach me the concept on how to acheive it. I searched alot on net but couldnt actually find one.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Look into using list comprehesion or basic for loop with append. There is also map function that would fit your case but now the prefered way are the more versatile list comprehensions.

Also len(word) gives the number of letters in a word.

A little help or mayby to much.

>>> s = "This is it!".split()
>>> s
['This', 'is', 'it!']
>>> len(s[0])
>>> [len(i) for i in s]
[4, 2, 3]

Try to figure out what happens in code over.
And as a practise [len(i) for i in s] write this line as a basic for loop with append as pyTony suggest.
This line called list comprehesion and are very common to use in python,so it good to look into it even if you have just start learing python.

def lens():
   print([len(i) for i in (raw_input("Insert sentence: ")).split(' ')])
lens()

Here it's printed the list formed by numbers from the statement

len(i)

where i is a word (string) from the

raw_input("Insert sentence: ")

you have inserted, which is splitted:

.split(' ')

Notice that the

.split()

function has as the delimiter the empty space

' '

, so that it splits the sentence after each SPACE you have inserted. So, in other words, this function will print the lenght of each word resulted in the split of the given sentence.

Output:

>>> print([len(i) for i in (raw_input("Insert sentence: ")).split(' ')])
Insert sentence: Hello World.
[5, 6]