# convert2.py
# PPython Monty
# Lab 2 Ch 2, PE 4
# A program to convert temperatures from Celsius to Fahrenheit and
# vice versa 

def main():
    # description of program
    print("This program converts Celsius temperatures to Fahrenheit and")
    print("vice versa.")
    conversion = ("C")
    n = eval(input("How many temperatures would you like converted?: "))
    for i in range(n):
        conversion = input("Enter 'F' to convert to Fahrenheit, 'C' to convert to Celsius or a number: ")
        if conversion == ("F"):
            F = 9/5 * C + 32
        elif conversion == "C":
            C = (F - 32) * 5/9
        else:
            C = (F - 32) * 5/9

main()

Basically I'm suppose to ask the user to input how many times they want to run the loop, then after they input a number, depending on if they enter C or F, the number they input next would be converted to Celsius or Fahrenheit.

I'm a noob at this, so I don't know exactly what I am doing wrong here. The code looks right and runs, but as soon as I enter F or C, it crashes. Also once I fix that problem, I'm not even sure if the code would work once I enter a number to get converted.

The thing is I keep getting errors no matter what I do. If I enter C or F, I get
"UnboundLocalError: local variable 'F' referenced before assignment"
or
UnboundLocalError: local variable 'C' referenced before assignment

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

At line 16, your program is using a value C which was not defined before. At line 18 and 20, you're using a value F which was not defined before.

How should/Do I define C?

If you choose to convert to Farenheit for example, you must also enter a value to convert.

Can someone guide me or help me? I don't know how to implement all of these suggestions.
I've only been doing Python for about 2 weeks.

You must start from simple functioning program and build on it, here little advanced

# make code work in both Python2 and Python3
from __future__ import print_function, division