Hello all,

I have been searching for some time to find the most appropriate enviroment to draw lines and simple tri's / quads in three dimensional space. I have recently experiemented with the floatcanvas class in wxpython and I really like it for 2D work, but extending it into the third dimension (by mapping 3d points to a 2d plane then calculating the order elements should be drawn) turned out to acheive rather poor results.

I am a structural engineer, and write a number of small applications to make like easier for myself for designing structures etc. ALmost all structures I deal with a represented in 3D as shown in the links below (links to thrid party applications). I want to add a new dimension to my projects, with adding graphical disply / input which greatly speeds up verification of models.

http://www.microstran.com.au/gallery_loader.htm

http://www.spacegass.com/index.asp?resend=/sgplates.asp&referer=

I know there is opengl, but I find reference material (python specific) is rather limited. A opengl equivalent to FloatCanvas would be ideal to avoid building everything up from a low level but I think I am dreaming there. I did a bit with MATLAB in uni, and it handled drawing these primatives with ease using high level functions so I guess I was hoping something similiar exists out there in the universe. I dont mind if I have to learn a new language, but I would prefer to use python if possible since I am familiar and productive with it at the moment (wxpython is working well for me to date). I will probally only ever need 1000 line elements / 1000 quads maximum so I dont think I need anything as fast a pure C solution.

At the end of the day I need to be able to draw the basic elements noted above, rotate the view and basic navigation, select objects etc. Does anyone have any suggestions on what they would use to acheive this?