Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner in programming languages and in Python. I came across this error and I don't khow if it is a logical error or a design error. The problem is with class_average

a = {1:[1, 2, 3],
     2:[3,4,5],
     3:[6,7,8]
     }

b = {1:[3,7,4],
     2:[8,2,9],
     3:[3,6,3]
     }

c = {1:[4,7,1],
     2:[5,5,9],
     3:[2,3,7]
     }

p=[a,b,c]

def average(p):
    return sum(p)/len(p)

def get_average(d):
    return average(p[1]) + average(p[2]) + average(p[3])

def class_average(p):
    for item in p:
        retun average(get_average(item))

or

def class_average(p):
    for item in p:
        return sum(get_average(item))

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

You came across what error? If you're getting an error message, please post it. If your code acts differently than you want it to, please explain what you expect and in what way it acts differently.

PS: Using return inside a for loop like you're doing, will likely not do what you want (though that does of course depend on what you want). return leaves the function immediately, so when you do it in a loop (without an if around it), that means you will exit the loop after the first element and never even look at the other elements.

PPS: On line 26 you misspelled return. You can tell because it's not highlighted as a keyword.

There is a typo in get_average that you should be able to run down from the error messages, or at least begin to learn how. Using descriptive variable names would help you with this, as well as help us understand the program. Print the return from get_average and see if it can be summed. Note that get_average returns a kind of sum of averages, not the average. Also, you should loop through containers like a dictionary so your funtion can handle containers that have any number of items instead of

return average(p[1]) + average(p[2]) + average(p[3])