Hello there?
I am extremely new to python, and am trying to attend the lectures about hashing. Please cd you ceck the following code and error, and just tell me how to make it work. Please I am not that advanced user of python. I am very basic.

def create(smallest, largest):
  intSet = []
  for i in range(smallest, largest+1): intSet.append(None)
  return intSet

def insert(intSet, e):
  intSet[e] = 1

def member(intSet, e):
  return intSet[e] == 1

def hashChar(c):
##  (c) is a char
##  function returns a different integer in the range 0-255
##  for each possible value of c 
  return (c)

def cSetCreate():
  cSet = []
  for i in range(0, 255): cSet.append(None)
  return cSet

def cSetInsert(cSet, e):
  cSet[hashChar(e)] = 1

def cSetMember(cSet, e):
  return cSet[hashChar(e)] == 1

cSetInsert(5,4)

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<pyshell#23>", line 1, in <module>
    cSetInsert(5,4)
  File "C:/Users/bangash/Documents/python files/1lec10.py", line 24, in cSetInsert
    cSet[hashChar(e)] = 1
TypeError: 'int' object does not support item assignment

Any help would be much appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Everything is a function except cSetInsert(5,4) so that gets executed. cSetInsert tries to use "5" as the argument, "cSet". However the function treats it as a list: cSet[hashChar(e)]

I think you intended to call cSetCreate() first and pass in the corresponding returned cSet. I don't know what you think "5" is for.

Also, range(0,255) will only create a 255-entry list. If you want all 256 entries, indexed 0 to 255, use range(256).