I have basic knowledge about python. I am looking for help with this code: how is the snake moving? How does it length increases on colliding with the object? And, how does it detect when it touches itself or when it collides with the wall?

It also has semicolon in it which, when I remove it and add proper indentation, the game works but the object keeps on moving.

import pygame, random, sys
from pygame.locals import *
def collide(x1, x2, y1, y2, w1, w2, h1, h2):
    if x1+w1>x2 and x1<x2+w2 and y1+h1>y2 and y1<y2+h2:return True
    else:return False
def die(screen, score):
    f=pygame.font.SysFont('Arial', 30);t=f.render('Your score was: '+str(score), True, (0, 0, 0));screen.blit(t, (10, 270));pygame.display.update();pygame.time.wait(2000);sys.exit(0)
xs = [290, 290, 290, 290, 290];ys = [290, 270, 250, 230, 210];dirs = 0;score = 0;applepos = (random.randint(0, 590), random.randint(0, 590));pygame.init();s=pygame.display.set_mode((600, 600));pygame.display.set_caption('Snake');appleimage = pygame.Surface((10, 10));appleimage.fill((0, 255, 0));img = pygame.Surface((20, 20));img.fill((255, 0, 0));f = pygame.font.SysFont('Arial', 20);clock = pygame.time.Clock()
while True:
    clock.tick(10)
    for e in pygame.event.get():
        if e.type == QUIT:
            sys.exit(0)
        elif e.type == KEYDOWN:
            if e.key == K_UP and dirs != 0:dirs = 2
            elif e.key == K_DOWN and dirs != 2:dirs = 0
            elif e.key == K_LEFT and dirs != 1:dirs = 3
            elif e.key == K_RIGHT and dirs != 3:dirs = 1
    i = len(xs)-1
    while i >= 2:
        if collide(xs[0], xs[i], ys[0], ys[i], 20, 20, 20, 20):die(s, score)
        i-= 1
    if collide(xs[0], applepos[0], ys[0], applepos[1], 20, 10, 20, 10):score+=1;xs.append(700);ys.append(700);applepos=(random.randint(0,590),random.randint(0,590))
    if xs[0] < 0 or xs[0] > 580 or ys[0] < 0 or ys[0] > 580: die(s, score)
    i = len(xs)-1
    while i >= 1:
        xs[i] = xs[i-1];ys[i] = ys[i-1];i -= 1