Hello, I am getting a syntax error with a shell script of mine that is eluding me...I am pretty new to this so if someone could help me out I'd appreciate it. Here is the part of the script that is throwing the error:

#!/bin/ksh
# Kismet/PCX Loader
#

set count = 0 
set stat = 1

# while output pipe cannot be opened, keep trying to open it.  stop after 10 seconds (5 tries)
# run the two concurrently
#  /root/kismet-2004-04-R1/kismet_server 
# kismet_server & bash ; cd /home/bang/dev/3.x/rtpcx/bin/x86_og/
(kismet_server) & 
(
cd /home/bang/dev/3.x/rtpcx/bin/x86_og/
while [ $stat -gt 0 ] 
do
  # echo "+++++  GOT IN HERE +++++"
  set stat = ./pcx /tmp/kismet_dump $1
  # wait for 4 seconds
  sleep 4 
  set count = 'expr $count + 1' 
  if [ $count -eq 5 ]; then
     echo "ERROR: could not open Kismet output pipe."
     break
  else  
      if [ $count -ne 1 ]; then
	  echo "retrying Kismet output pipe..."
      else
	  echo "opening Kismet output pipe..."
      fi
  fi
done
)      # <---  *** ERROR OCCURS HERE, COMPLAINS ABOUT ")" ***

wait  

It complains about the closing ) after the while loop.
The exact error is:
"./wireless_pcx_shell[33]: [: 0: unexpected operator/operand"
Is there something that I am doing wrong here? Any help would be great, thanks everyone.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

change:
set count = 'expr $count + 1'

TO:

count = $(( count + 1 ))

This is somewhat cosmetic

You need to check your balanced parents BEFORE the offending line. So far I don't see anything being unbalanced, but doing it with a real editor could be helpful.

hmm, still gave me the same error. Any suggestions on an editor I can use that would give me more feedback? Thanks again...

using 'vi':
1. place your cursor on the closing ')' on the offinding line
2. hit '%' - the cursor will move to the MATCHING '(' - make sure it is what it's supposed to be
3. do the same for any preceeding '(' or ')'

the parentheses seem to be matching