Hello!

I am a newbie to scripting and I'm trying to start an application via a bash script after checking to make sure that two condititions do (or do not) exist first. I've attempted to write down what I'd like to do and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction. I don't know how to take the output from my awk commands and use them within the bash script to determine whether or not to start the process. Here's what I'm trying to do:
Script name = dynamips.sh
Start dynamips using port 7200 as the port variable

./dynamips.sh 7200
# if proc utilization over 50% error break out and tell user to try another server
# I'm thinking of doing this with awk and somehow acting on the "exceed" that is printed

ps -ef | awk '/Cpu/ {if ($2 > 50 ) print "exceed"}'

# if number of dynamips processes are 5 or more break out and tell user to try another server
## I'm thinking of doing this with awk and somehow acting on the "exceed" that is printed

ps -ef | awk '/dynamips/ {print $10}' | awk 'END {print NR,"Total"}' | awk '/Total/ {if ( $1 > 4) print "exceed"}'

else

# execute /usr/bin/dynamips -H $port

# and then a way to stop/start/restart

Any help is greatly appreciated!

TIA,
Richard

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hey Richard,

For both of those, you can capture the output of your test commands using backticks (will work in any shell) or the $() test in bash

For instance, you could take your statement:

ps -ef | awk '/Cpu/ {if ($2 > 50 ) print "exceed"}'

and assign it to a variable

xceeded=`ps -ef | awk '/Cpu/ {if ($2 > 50 ) print "exceed"}'`

or

xceeded=$(ps -ef | awk '/Cpu/ {if ($2 > 50 ) print "exceed"}')

and then test that variable, for example:

if [ $xceeded == "exceed" ]
then
    do what have to do
fi

Let me know if that's enough of a nudge in the right direction. You're almost there :)

Best wishes,

Mike

Hey Richard,