Hi all,

I am new to Linux/shell scripting having moderate knowledge.

In my script, I need the execution time of command (say 'ls') in mili seconds level. For this, I would like to use 'time' command. The problem is that, how to save the output of time command in a variable (for other commands, this can be done easily)?

Going further, the o/p of 'time' command:

real 0m0.003s
user 0m0.004s
sys 0m0.000s
[/B]
In my script, I would like to use only middle line "user 0m0.004s" saved to the variable but unable to find out the way. Is that something related to 'awk' or 'sed'

Can someone help me out with this issue. Thanks a lot.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Try this: x=$((time sleep 1) 2>&1); echo $x Here's what is going on: The shell (bash in my case) time command is "reporting" timing info directly to the console.

• By putting () around the command, which means "run in a subshell", that 'report' gets converted so it is on stderr.
  • The 2>&1 redirects stderr onto stdout
  • the $(...) allows us to set the variable from all the above (use backticks: `...` for sh).

This is all just for the Bourne family of shells (sh, ksh, bash). If you are using csh or related, you can do the same sort of thing, but the syntax is different.

Things to consider:

• chant man bash (substitute your own shell) and look for something like 'time format' (in bash: TIMEFORMAT) to see some useful options
  • chant man date and look at the format options. If your version has milliseconds (mine does not), you can get where you want with much less effort (just run it before and after your command and do some arithmetic). This is my preferred option for most things.

Hi griswolf,

Thanks a lot for your reply. I'll try the solution u have posted.

That worked well with some changes.

Thanks a lot.