hey all, im new at shell scripting and need to find out a simple way to create text files, with random words in them. then needing to input 3 of these files arranging their lines in alphabetical order
and after that creating an output file with the last lines sorted in reverse alphabetical order.

i really am a beginner so could you please explain as you help.
thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Ok first are we talking Linux or windows shell?

So sorry, linux

Good then this will be easy.

The text files with random words I am assuming you can make for your self. But lets say you have the three files called text1.txt text2.txt and text3.txt. Linux has a built in sort command called sort that will do what you are trying to do. To use it you either pipe the output of another program to it or redirect a file in to it.

** Note in my examples the $ is your prompt and not part of the command.

For example to sort the contents of text1.txt you could cat the file and pipe it to sort like this:

$ cat text1.txt | sort

The results will be displayed on your screen. To write the output to a file you simply redirect the output to a file name. The file does not need to exist and using a single redirect if it exists it will be overwritten.

$ cat text1.txt | sort > sortedfile.txt

To sort all three files together you simply list them one after the other:

$ cat text1.txt text2.txt text3.txt | sort > big_sortedfile.txt

By default sort uses the first word of each line and sorts alphanumerically which means that 2 is larger than 10 because the first letter (2) is larger than the first letter of 10 (1). There is a flag to tell it to look for numerical values but you did not ask about that.

I have also been told to use the 'tail' command, should I do that or is your way simpler.
Also how do I go about taking the last word of each text file and creating an output file with those words in reverse alphabetical order ?