I am trying to learn a bit of Haskell but I am having some problems with understanding how to make programs with pow*.

For example I have to create the following program:

What the program does is 1+2(pow2)+3(pow2)+n(pow2) and then to make sure that n is positive number.

If someone could create such a program that would really help me understand what is going on.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I tried to look in Google Wikipedia Haskell sites but it seems that this language is not used by most programmers and no one really makes such eazy programs.

I guess no one here knows Haskell too...

I don't know of any built in pow function in Haskell (I'm still a novice with it myself), but off the top of my head, you should be able to create a simple pow function like this:

pow :: Int -> Int -> Int
pow x y = x^y

Which you call like this:

pow 3 2

Where 3 is the base value and 2 is the exponent, which should calculate and return the value of 3^2, which is 9!

With regards to the rest of your program, I'm a little confused. The description doesn't make sense.

I'm assuming you need to get the user to input a value for n, which you need to check is positive.
If the value is acceptable, you then calculate the series of values. Looking at the formula you have given, it looks as if it will require a recursive function starting with n^2 and counting down on each recursive call until you get down to 1.

So using the pow function above, we could create a simple recursive function like this:

powthing :: Int -> Int
powthing n
    | n < 1 = 0
    | n == 1 = 1
    | otherwise = pow n 2 + powthing (n-1)

Note: I had no idea what to call this function, so I've simply called it powthing! :)

In the above function, we have a few checks against the value of n. If n<1 we return 0, if n==1 we return 1, otherwise we return the value of n^2 + whatever is returned by a recursive call to the powthing function, passing n-1.