I am a beginner with VB, I'm coming from C++. When I compile and test the program the base pay textbox changes to 0, gross pay textbox to 0 and the total deductions turns to 0.25. For the life of me I can't figure out why. My little experience with python and C++ tells me that its something simple that I overlooked. Any help would be appreciated, Thank You.

Public Class Form1

Private Sub btnExit_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnExit.Click
        Me.Close()

End Sub

Private Sub btnCal_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnCal.Click
        Dim payRate As Decimal
        Dim grossPay As Decimal
        Dim totalDeds As Decimal = 0.25
        Dim netPay As Decimal
        Dim hoursWorked As Integer

grossPay = hoursWorked * payRate

netPay = grossPay - grossPay * totalDeds

textboxBasePay.Text = payRate
        lblGrossPay.Text = grossPay
        lblTotalDeductions.Text = totalDeds
        lblNetPay.Text = netPay

End Sub
End Class

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

It's because your payRate and grossPay isn't assigned anything (if this is all your code). You should be getting these values from a textbox in the program no?
What you should do is break through your program. VB.Net allows you to step through in runtime.
To do this, simply click on the left panel beside your btnCal_Click Procedure to start the stepping as soon as you click the button when the programs running.
In debug mode, press F11 to step to the next millisecond. You'll see the line turn yellow. When it's yellow you can mouseover any variable to see the current value assigned to it. This should give you an idea as to what's happening during runtime.

The hints I can give you are:

- your payRate should either be a constant number, ex: dim const payRate as decimal = 8.90
or assigned a number from a user. Otherwise it'll always be zero.

- Try to remember which side of the equals sign programming languages look at first.