Hi,

I have a form (FrmOverView) that’s based on a dataset containing a number of related tables, one of which is named TblCustomer. This form shows, amongst other things, Tblcustomer details in a gridview.

What I want is to open another form (FrmCustomerDetails), that shows individual customer details in greater depth, when the user selects (single clicks) a row in the TblCustomer grid.

The common field is, of course, CustomerID.

A QUESTION FIRST.
As the second form only needs to show details for the selected customer (no scrolling records needed) should I base the 2nd form on the same dataset as the first form or should I create a new dataset that just contains the TblCustomer table. (I suspect it should be a new dataset, but then I’m new to VS, so I could be wrong)

Previously, in the good old days of Ms Access, I used to open the 2nd form using something like;

Dim stDocName As String
    Dim stLinkCriteria As String

stDocName = "FrmCustomerDetails"

stLinkCriteria = "[CustomerID]=" & Me![customerID]
    DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria

However, for the life of me I can’t figure out how to do this in VB2008. So ANY help would be greatly received.

Many thanks

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hi,

First your second question. You have to add a dataset, a tableadapter and a bindingsource to the forms.

Then the first question.
You have a datagridview on the mainform and when you clik it, you want to open another form with the data of the selected cell in labels. You can do that with the following code:

Code for Mainform (FrmOverView):

Private Sub DataGridView_CellClick(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewCellEventArgs) Handles DataGridView.CellClick
        FrmCustomerDetails.show()
    End Sub

Code for form2 (FrmCustomerDetails):

Private Sub Form2_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
        Me.TableAdapter.Fill(Me.DataSet.TblCustomer)