I am very new to vb 2008 and have create a simple window forms application which link to microsoft access 2007 database.

I build the application exe file already. The exe file is run well on my computer, but when i transfer it by copy and paste the whole folder to another computer it cannot run. I am wondering why this happen? the error is as below :

"selected collating sequence not supported by the operating system".

Can the exe run without installing vb?

Hopefully can get help here...Thanks a lot.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Hello Kenny,
Thanks for your reply. I had try this before, but the problem is still same. I don't really know what's going on with my application...

the application only run well on another computer which VB is installed.

If you Release-compiled your program, then there is no need to install "vb".
You do, however, need to install the .NET Framework version for which your program is developed with.

Other then that, just make sure that your Access database is in the same folder as your exe.

it sure wont work. the .exe file is more like a compiled copy of your program and definitely when it runs, its gonna search for your MS Access database, when it does not find it, it gives you the error

Try installing Ms access database and .net framework on the other systems

Here's an idea I posted in another thread.
Create a folder in your project folder and put the access database file in it.
Then, include that folder in your project.

Use that folder as a reference in the connection string: ".\<databasefolder>\<database file>", instead of "C:\<somefolder>\<databasefile>". (Notice the dot in the beginning).

When you rebuild the project, that folder containing the database file will be copied to the build output folder along with the exe.
Then just copy the files and folder to where ever you want.