Hello everyone,
I am not a professional at vb.net so help me out. I have made a small program and a want to add a serial control to it.... here is my code....

Public Class Form1

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
If TextBox1.Text = "12345" And TextBox2.Text = "12345" And TextBox3.Text = "12345" And TextBox4.Text = "12345" And TextBox5.Text = "12345" And TextBox6.Text = "12345" Then
Form2.Show()
Me.Hide()
Else
MsgBox("Incorrect Serial Number")
End If

End Sub
End Class

Now, that code is all fine, but every time i open up my program, it asks me for a serial... how do i make it "if the correct serial is typed in once, then the serialization window will never pop up again"? It would also be a great help if the text boxes had a limit of 5 characters, and when the 5 characters are typed, it would go to the next text box....

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

hello
you may use "settings" to store settings
project properties> settings> valid Boolean user false

then in the load event

If Not My.Settings.valid Then
            'ask for the serial
        End If

as for the auto focus after 5 chars i think this will do

Private Sub TextBox_TextChanged(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles TextBox1.TextChanged, TextBox2.TextChanged, TextBox3.TextChanged, TextBox4.TextChanged, TextBox5.TextChanged
        Dim _textBox As TextBox = sender
        If _textBox.TextLength = 5 Then
            Dim index = Val(_textBox.Name(7)) + 1
            Me.Controls.Find("TextBox" & index.ToString, True)(0).Focus()
        End If
    End Sub

be careful when renaming the textboxes .. "7" will likely have to be changed and also "TextBox"

thanks for the code, but I'm a bit confused.... i really don't know what goes where, so ill send you my project.... Please help me!!!

hello nv136,

Based on my understanding you are trying to do following -