i work with a guy who constantly complains and posts on stackoverflow that i am a sloppy coder (he is a web developer, i am a .net developer, he has never actually looked at my programming).

but curiously, i researched. The only thing that I do not follow with best practices is certain .net naming conventions. I have developed a habit of using _s (function_name) and intInteger, strString, blnBoolean.

he says i am wrong and it is sloppy and not efficient. I should do it stringName, functionName, intergerName, booleanName.

is it really that big of a deal? is something magically going to happen if i break my old naming convention habbits? I use option strict on, option explicit on, comment what my code does in sequence, provide strong error handling which emails me the database query (if there is one) what went wrong who it went wrong for, what application and what function they where using when it went wrong. I use alot of structure and keep things need and clean, i use configuration files and i keep my database structered in clean, hell i even use database.table.column whenever i want to select/update something so i know what i am looking at

does my naming convention make me a sloppy coder

feedback is appreciated like always.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Let's take the "other" programmer's example and see what results we get.

Dim stringSomething As String = "some string"
stringSomething = "some other string"
MsgBox(stringSomething)

Total characters: 109

Now let's take "your" example.

Dim strSomething As String = "some string"
strSomething = "some other string"
MsgBox(strSomething)

Total characters: 100

... Now, 9 characters difference is not a big deal, but when constantly reused, "it is a big deal".
Here are a few reasons why.

1. The less code for an application to locate and process, the quicker the application. Correct?
2. The less time you waste typing extra "unnecessary" characters, the quicker you get results done. Correct?