NEED HELP~!
Does anyone know how to import exel data into sql server using vb.net? I want to create a openfiledialog and allow user to choose which exel file to be imported into the server.
Thank you so much~~ >.<
PS. I am just a beginner of vb.net. So would u pls tell me the solution in detail?
THANKS~~~!!

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Try
            Dim fBrowse As New OpenFileDialog

With fBrowse
                .Filter = "Excel files(*.xls)|*.xls|All files (*.*)|*.*"
                .FilterIndex = 1
                .Title = "Import data from Excel file"
            End With
            If fBrowse.ShowDialog() = Windows.Forms.DialogResult.OK Then
                Dim fname As String
                fname = fBrowse.FileName
                Dim MyConnection As System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnection
                Dim DtSet As System.Data.DataSet
                Dim MyCommand As System.Data.OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
                MyConnection = New System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnection _
                ("Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=" & fname & ";" & "Extended Properties=""Excel 8.0;HDR=NO;IMEX=1""")
                MyCommand = New System.Data.OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter("select Columns names from [sheet$]", MyConnection)

MyCommand.TableMappings.Add("Table", "Ur table name.")
                DtSet = New System.Data.DataSet
                MyCommand.Fill(DtSet)
'If dataset is not empty Then write code here to insert values to DB.
                MyConnection.Close()
            End If
  Catch ex As Exception
            MessageBox.Show(ex.ToString)
        End Try

After getting the data into data set. loop throgh ur dataset and insert the values in to DB. There myt be many techniques for this... but i know this one. you can dirctly map the Excel file to SQL using SQL wizard.

thanks and if i want to map the exel file to sql using sql wizard then can you please tell me how to do that.
Thanks

and one more thing.What does [sheet$] means???