Hi there, Im new to vb and i am using visual basic express 2010.
i have put together a database and can do quite a lot with the app i have created.

i am not very familiar with detailed programming so i have created my update query thru the dataset tools in visual basic express. i get a data mismatch error from the code i am using, but when i look for answers online they refer to purely coded update queries as opposed to what i can see in vb express.

this is the code i have in place

Private Sub UpdateButton_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles UpdateButton.Click

Me.AssociatesTableAdapter.UpdateQuery(FirstName:=FirstNameBox.Text, LastName:=LastNameBox.Text, Training:=TrainingBox.Text, _
                                              Department:=DepartmentBox.Text, Password:=PasswordBox.Text, Original_FirstName:=FirstNameBox.Text, _
                                              Original_FirstName1:=FirstNameBox.Text, Original_LastName:=LastNameBox.Text, Original_LastName1:=LastNameBox.Text, _
                                              Original_Training:=TrainingBox.Text, Original_Training1:=TrainingBox.Text, Original_Department:=DepartmentBox.Text, _
                                              Original_Department1:=DepartmentBox.Text, Original_Password:=PasswordBox.Text, Original_Password1:=PasswordBox.Text)

End Sub

The query code looks like this

UPDATE    Associates
SET              FirstName = ?, LastName = ?, Training = ?, Department = ?, [Password] = ?
WHERE     (? = 1 AND FirstName IS NULL OR
                      FirstName = ?) AND (? = 1 AND LastName IS NULL OR
                      LastName = ?) AND (? = 1 AND Training IS NULL OR
                      Training = ?) AND (? = 1 AND Department IS NULL OR
                      Department = ?) AND (? = 1 AND [Password] IS NULL OR
                      [Password] = ?)