hi all..

i have the option to save the contents of the listview that was saved into text file.
now i would like to load the text file into datagridview in vb.net but i have no idea how to do it as this is my first time in doing it and i had googled around but couldn't find the information i needed.

can anybody show me example of code to load text file data into datagridview? i am using vb.net and mysql

thanks in advance!!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Can you please clarify? What are the contents of the text file and how do you want it parsed to go into the datagrid? What is the layout of the datagrid? An example might be "I have a text file containing lines of comma separated values. I want to display them in a datagrid with one value per cell and one line per row."

sorry, u can ignore about mysql..
the contents are:
(name) (date) (charges)
LEE,06/08/2011,1000.00
which the contents are seperated by commas
i want it to show one line per row. sorry for my bad english and explanation

I created a form with a datagridview control named grdMyData. It has three columns - colName, colDate and colCharges. To add one row of new data I did the following:

Dim dgrow As New DataGridViewRow
Dim dgcell As DataGridViewCell

dgcell = New DataGridViewTextBoxCell
dgcell.Value = "John"
dgrow.Cells.Add(dgcell)

dgcell.Value = "2011-10-30"
dgrow.Cells.Add(dgcell)

dgcell.Value = "$12.99"
dgrow.Cells.Add(dgcell)

grdMydata.Rows.Add(dgrow)

Ii hope this helps.

PS, my code has "Imports System.Windows.Forms" at the top.

but if there are many rows per line, how should i read it into datagridview?

Can you give me an actual sample of the input file so I know what you mean?

the listview have 3 columns, and have few rows containing some data..
i have save the content into textfile and the output is like

LEE,06/08/2011,1000.00
KEVIN,08/08/2011,1600.00
SALAU,15/08/2011,800.00
..etc..
..etc..

the textfile data then i intend to insert into datagridview after opening the file..