Hello,

I'm a newbie in vb :D however with all the information and help this forum had provided i reach this far with my code BUT i can't proceed anymore.

I'm trying to make a small software which will help me in my work. I can't get it to work and with so little experience in this field i'm so lost. could you please tell me what i did wrong here.

Imports System.Data.OleDb
Public Class Form2
    '+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Dim con As OleDbConnection = New OleDbConnection("Provider=Microsoft.jet.oledb.4.0;data source=C:/mydata.mdb")

Private Sub Form2_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

Dim cmd As OleDbCommand = New OleDbCommand("SELECT EmployeeID,FirstName FROM Employees ORDER BY FirstName", con)
        Dim cmd2 As OleDbCommand = New OleDbCommand("SELECT ProductID, ProductName FROM Products", con)

Dim ds As New DataSet
        Dim da As New OleDbDataAdapter

Dim ds2 As New DataSet
        Dim da2 As New OleDbDataAdapter

con.Open()

ds = New DataSet()
        da = New OleDbDataAdapter()

da.SelectCommand = cmd

da.Fill(ds, "employee")

With cmbdscName
            .DataSource = ds.Tables("employee")
            .DisplayMember = "FirstName"
            .ValueMember = "EmployeeID"
            .SelectedIndex = 0
        End With

ds2 = New DataSet()
        da2 = New OleDbDataAdapter()

da2.SelectCommand = cmd2

da2.Fill(ds2, "Product")

With cmbProduct
            .DataSource = ds2.Tables("product")
            .DisplayMember = "ProductName"
            .ValueMember = "ProductID"
            .SelectedIndex = 0

End With

con.Close()
        con = Nothing

End Sub

'now what i want to do is to filter the next combo box (cmbsubp) by the value selected in the first combo box (cmbProduct)
    Private Sub cmbProduct_SelectedIndexChanged(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles cmbProduct.SelectedIndexChanged

Dim cmd As OleDbCommand = New OleDbCommand("SELECT subp.SubItem " & _