Right guys, I'm really new to this but I'm getting along ok, but I've hit a block.

I need to be able to know how to search a text file in VB for a particular line and then display it.
the files I'm trying to use are set up as: ID, Name, Address, Birthday, Pay-Roll Type
So I need to know how to search the file for the ID number and then display the rest of that line

I can read a file from beginning to end but this I am clueless about, thanks
It's for a system to add, display, update and remove workers

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

One easy way is to use a filter as in

Dim alltext() As String = System.IO.File.ReadAllLines(myfilename)
Dim filtered() As String = Filter(text, "12345")

You may have to include the field delimiters (commas, perhaps) in the filter string to prevent matches on the ID string if it should happen to occur in another field.

Another possibility, if the fields are regular and delimited is to open the text file as a data source and use a SQL query to select the records of interest. I can help with that if you want to go the SQL route.

thanks for your help, but I need the User to be able to enter an ID and it isn't the same each time, therefore the code would need adapting each time? The user needs to be able to input the ID in a text box and then locate the corresponding line in the text file

You can replace the string with something like

Dim filtered() As String = Filter(text, txtUserID.text)

If you want to use the file as a data source it can be done using ADO as follows

Imports ADODB

Public Class Form1

'assuming the user clicks on btnLogin after entering a userid

Private Sub login_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles login.Click

Dim con As New ADODB.Connection
        Dim rec As New ADODB.Recordset

con.Open("Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=" & myFolder & ";Extended Properties='TEXT;HDR=YES;FMT=DELIMITED'")