hello!
i am developing a simple application which will get data from different database like mssql , access , foxpro , and after getting data it will create 4 text files tows.txt , customer.txt , product.text , trasection.txt ,
prob is this that i am very new to foxpro , i dont know abc of it , and also the names of columns are very strange to me , like Id_t = invoice date , so my question is , how can i get full structure of foxpro db , or is it possible to easily import all the tables into mssql then just fetch data.

Regards

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

FoxPro uses a variant of the old dBase(Click Here) file format. There is a program (free trial) called DBF Manager that works well with these file types.

You can find it here:
Click Here

I occasionally work with .NET applications that connect to FoxPro databases; we use the OLE DB drivers.

As for the column names, that's a choice on the part of the database designer--though if I remember correctly, FoxPro column names can't be very long; that's why the cryptic abbreviations.

thanks both of you , but still i am not able to connect my .dbf file with vb.net. i dont know how to use these drivers. please if possible then can you explain it.
i am using this code to connect , please check this

import system.data.odbc

'----------------------------------------
dim con as new odbcconnection("Driver={Microsoft dBASE Driver (*.dbf)};DriverID=227;Dbq='C:\TITEM.dbf'")

' and this one

dim con as new odbcconnection("Driver={Microsoft Visual FocPro Driver};UID=;PWD;SourceDB='C:\TITEM.dbf';SourceType=DBF;Exclusive=NO;BackgroundFetch=Yes;Collate=Machine;Null=Yes;Deleted=Yes")

but both the strings are not working for me , can you please provide some example code ?

Best Regards