Hello to everyone, Im new to vb.net and right now I am developing a program that its like a agenda where the user sets the date and the time do be remembered of the task the he has to do. Im storing the tasks in a txt file. The part when I set the time to, for example 21:30, a msgbox pops out saying "Alarm".But Im having trouble with the date, it gives an error every time I save the task into the txt file with the date on it.

So how can I see if the date of the computer its equal to the date in the txt file?

Heres the code that i have made:

Private Sub Timer1_Tick(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Timer1.Tick

time_day = TimeOfDay.TimeOfDay.ToString
    date_day = Date.Today.ToLongDateString

End Sub

Private Sub Timer2_Tick(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Timer2.Tick

Dim FILE_NAME As String = "C:\Users\Guilherme\Documents\database\data_base_tasks.txt"

If System.IO.File.Exists(FILE_NAME) = True Then

Dim objReader As New System.IO.StreamReader(FILE_NAME)

Do While objReader.Peek() <> -1
            If objReader.ReadLine.Contains(date_day) And objReader.ReadLine.Contains(time_day) Then
                MsgBox("Alarm")
            End If
        Loop

Else

MsgBox("File Does Not Exist")

End If

End Sub

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Here buddy:

Public Class MyForm

Private Sub MyForm_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
        Dim MyDate As String = Date.Today.ToLongDateString
        Dim MyTimeSpan As New TimeSpan
        MyTimeSpan = TimeOfDay.TimeOfDay + New TimeSpan(0, 0, 5)
        My.Computer.FileSystem.WriteAllText("MyFile.txt", MyDate & " - " & MyTimeSpan.ToString, False)
        MyTimer.Interval = 750 'Don't make the Interval below 500 because one second is 1000 intervals.
        'If it is less then 500 then it will make multiple MessageBoxes show up.
        MyTimer.Start()
    End Sub