Hello everyone, Im a beginner in vb.net and currently Im developing a program where i save date to a txt file like this Reminder#dinner#26-07-2012 19:52:00 and show it in a listbox(all the lines in the txt file).
What i want to do is to select a line(item) in the listbox and delete it in the txt file.

How can i delete a line of a txt file by selecting it from the listbox? I already can check if the line(i) its equal to the selected item of the textbox

Heres the code that i have:

Private Sub Button3_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button3.Click, task_viewer.Click

Dim lines() As String = IO.File.ReadAllLines("C:\Users\Guilherme\Documents\database\data_base_tasks.txt")
        For i As Integer = 0 To UBound(lines)
            If lines(i) = task_viewer.SelectedItem.ToString Then
                MsgBox(lines(i)) ' this was to see if the selected item in the listbox would show the line that was on the txt file, and it shows
            End If

Next
    End Sub

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Listbox.items.removeat(Passtheindex) And writeback all the remaining lines to textfile again..

Wasn't this already asked and answered here?

commented: Good catch, Iggy. +5

Here I think this is what you want.

Public Class MyForm
    Private Sub Button3_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button3.Click, task_viewer.Click
        Dim lines() As String = IO.File.ReadAllLines("C:\Users\Guilherme\Documents\database\data_base_tasks.txt")
        MyListBox.Items.Clear()
        For Each Line As String In lines
            MyListBox.Items.Add(Line)
        Next
    End Sub

Private Sub RemoveLineButton_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles RemoveLineButton.Click
        If MyListBox.SelectedItems.Count > 0 Then
            MyListBox.Items.RemoveAt(MyListBox.SelectedIndex)
            Dim MyString As String
            For Count As Integer = 0 To MyListBox.Items.Count - 1