I have gone through the articles appeared in this forum on the above Area.But it didn't helped me much,As I am new to VB.net.
In VB6 I have the following code and it works well.

Private Sub CmbBank_GotFocus()
 CmbBank.BackColor = vbYellow
 LblMsg = "Select Bank"
    Dim A, B, C As Integer
 CmbBank.Clear
 CmbBank.Text = "SELECT BANK NAME"
 Set RS = New ADODB.Recordset
 If RS.State = adStateOpen Then RS.Close
RS.Open "SELECT * FROM Receipts", CN, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic
   If TxtMode = "A" Then
     Do Until RS.EOF
   CmbBank.AddItem RS!Bank
  RS.MoveNext
   Loop
     Else
   Do Until RS.EOF
   A = Len(Left(RS!Bank, 25))
   A = 25 - A
   B = Len(Left(RS!Acno, 16))
   B = 16 - B
   C = Len(Left(RS!Amount, 10))
   C = 10 - C
  CmbBank.AddItem RS!Bank & Space(A) & Space(1) & (RS!Acno) & Space(B) & Space(1) & (RS!Amount)
  RS.MoveNext
 Loop
  End If
End Sub

The combo box is filled with three columns of the Table-Bank,Acno,Amount
When it comes to VB.net What will be the code?
Any one please help me..

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Thank you minimalist.. Many times you helped me much..thank you
I tried the following code.It works,but only one record is added as item in the combobox.I want all the records from the table-Receipts.Will you help me with the necessary code.

CN.Open()
        SQL = "SELECT Bank,Acno from Receipts"
        DA = New OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter(SQL, CN)
        DA.Fill(DS, "Deposit")
        If TxtMode.Text = "A" Then
        CmbBank.Items.Add(DS.Tables("Deposit").Rows(0).Item("Bank"))
        End If

Well, try the same loop as before and see if it works.

I tried But not working. My code is here

Dim CN As New OleDb.OleDbConnection
 Dim DBProvider As String
 Dim DBSource As String
 Dim DS As New DataSet
 Dim DA As OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
 Dim SQL As String
 DBProvider = "PROVIDER=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;"
 DBSource = "Data Source=C:\Users\bennet\Documents\Visual Studio 2012\Projects\MavDeposit\MavDeposit\Deposit.mdb"