I have been asked to buid a VB code which is flexible.Wen i take project from
one place to another,i need not change path in all forms.If i change in one
place,then it gets reflected in all other forms.
ex:In com1,I hav path=e:\proj\a1.MDB which I use in al the forms;
& in com2,I need to change the above path such tat I need to change it only once.
Can I assign the whole path to a variable and declare the whole thing as global??
Is it possible to write
data1.ConnectionString = App.Path + "db1.mdb"
If so where do I define App.Path??
I am new to VB6.pl help

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Hi karthik,
yes you can use app.path ti resolve your connection problem,
we can use it from where ever you need, it takes the application folder path as App.path
that is your Database should placed on the folder where you placed your application.
With addition use can use Subfolder names for example
Quiz is Your application folder name,you placed your Database in the Subfolder "Data"
D:\Quiz\data
in this case
ucan use

App.path & "\Data\Db1.mdb"

unless the palce the Db in Application folder itself and use your code App.path & "\Db1.mdb"

I hope this will help you

With regards
Venkatramasamy SN

OK....but where should I define App.path???

I want to define it only once.so do i need to declare it an any of the forms or do i need
to declare it as public or something.Sorry,I am not familiar with Syntax.

Hi Karthik

Use module
and define it in the module,
yo cann access the module from anywhere

With regards
Venkatramasamy SN

k.thanks.illl try tat...thanx a lot

k.and do i need to connect the module with something???

HI,i tried using a module but it is showing
compile error:invalid outside procedure.

Hi karthik,
In the module write your code in function
the funcation can be accessed from anywhere in the project by using Mudulename.functionname
for example]
Your module name is DBCon
And Functionname is Connection
The code to access the function is

DBCon.Connection