hi to all im new at vb6 and ive made a few basic programs using tutorials etc to get me started. i wanted to make a smiley tool for msn and yahoo for myself. doesnt sound like anything brillant i know but as i said im still learning and i figure if i dont ask i wont ever figure it out as ive been searching google for 2 days and cant find the answer. ok now ill get to the point what i want to do is when i click a smily it will go to the active yahoo room/pm for example. i know how to do most of it except how to send the code for the smily for example ":)" to the active window when the image is clicked can anyone help me with this please ty in advance for it

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

*Sits Here Like an Old Wise Shaolin VB Monk*

Use..... Sendkeys.

sorry for the stupid question but how exactly do i do that is there a tutorial or guide somewhere you can direct me to please sorry for the stupid question im sure u get a bit tired of them and ty for the reply

No No, Not at all. The only stupid question is the one you don't ask. I just thought it would be fun to be a Shaolin of VB :D

Anyway, here is a good page to read up about sendkeys... there used to be a lot more, this one took some digging. I suppose I'll have to write one for Daniweb... Anyhow, you use it just by calling it, but it needs keys to send:

sendkeys "hi"

The Problem is, That It has codes that can go with it. For Example:

sendkeys "~{F4}{ENTER}"

Is The Same As Pressing Alt-F4, And Then Enter, at the same time. Alt F4 closes the currently active App, and Enter would be pointless.... but for an example for you to see, I put it there like that. I'm guessing you would do something like:

sendkeys ":){ENTER}"

Either way, Here is a page that lists the special characters, and the stuff you can put in braces:
http://www.scriptlogic.com/Kixtart/htmlhelp/Functions/sendkeys.htm

Let me know how it turns out.