**how can i delete a record on a database?

im using this codes:

Private Sub cmdDelete_Click()
    Dim con As ADODB.Connection
    Set con = New ADODB.Connection
    Dim rsDelete As ADODB.Recordset
    Set rsDelete = New ADODB.Recordset

MsgBox "Are you sure you want to delete?", vbYesNo, "Santo Niño Census Info System"
    ' i dont know next..
End Sub

please help..im new to vb..thanks

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

are you sure your heading the right way!? This might help you. it's in vb.net.

Click This!

I think it was discuss in another thread. this might help you..

Try this :

Dim Query As String

If MsgBox("Are you sure you want to delete?", vbYesNo, "Santo Niño Census Info System") = vbYes Then
        Query = "DELETE FROM Users WHERE IdUser ='" & Trim(txtId) & "'"
        con.Execute Query, , adCmdText
    End If
End Sub

The code below assumes that you have already established your database connection. To delete a particular record the code is:

con.Execute "DELETE FROM <<tablename>> WHERE <<fieldFilter>>='discardable'"

NOTES:

1. fieldFilter is the name of field in the table where you are to delete records.
  2. fieldFilter can take different systax. It can be a string like in this example where single-quotes are mandatory. If it's a number then the quotes is not needed. If your fieldFilter is a boolean, the syntax should be this: <<fieldFilter Is True>>. When you specify your actual tablename and fieldFilter name, omit these << and these >>.

The code below assumes that you have already established your database connection. To delete a particular record the code is:

con.Execute "DELETE FROM <<tablename>> WHERE <<fieldFilter>>='discardable'"

NOTES:

1. fieldFilter is the name of field in the table where you are to delete records.