I am a summer intern who has been given a project in MS Access and has little knowledge of VBA - so I would be extremely grateful if you could help me.

I have a form called Customer Programs that saves the program description, brand and year. Each program is given a unique ID calle the Customer Program ID that the computer uses to later filter data. (in another form) The format of this id is "CP***", so they are "CP001", "CP002, "CP003" and so on. I need the computer to understand this format so that it continues when a new program is added.

If you know of a way that this is possible and could walk me through it I would really appreciate it. Thank you in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

hi everyone,
if you are using visual basic you can connect to the access database using access but it can be very tidysome but if you are using rapid then what you can do (if your database does not contain any pictures or images) is try not to use access but use rapid to generate a database and use rapistream it. You can then use rapid or vba to read the database.

I hope this helps you

Yours Sincerely

Richard West

I am a summer intern who has been given a project in MS Access and has little knowledge of VBA - so I would be extremely grateful if you could help me.

I have a form called Customer Programs that saves the program description, brand and year. Each program is given a unique ID calle the Customer Program ID that the computer uses to later filter data. (in another form) The format of this id is "CP***", so they are "CP001", "CP002, "CP003" and so on. I need the computer to understand this format so that it continues when a new program is added.

If you know of a way that this is possible and could walk me through it I would really appreciate it. Thank you in advance.

Hi Michelle,