Sorry if the question is naive, I am new at this.

I am trying to transform an xml document using xslt, with saxon. When I try to run my code I get this error:

SERE0014: Illegal HTML character: decimal 153

After searching for a bit I discovered that the error is due to the HTMLEmitter class of net.sf.saxon.event. There is a method writeEscape that handles escape characters that includes this code:

else if (c >= 127 && c < 160) {
                       // these control characters are illegal in HTML
                       DynamicError err = new DynamicError(
                        "Illegal HTML character: decimal " + (int) c);
                        err.setErrorCode("SERE0014");
                        throw err;

It seems that in the XML document I am trying to transform, there are some caracters that fall into this category and that is why I get this error. My question is, how can I correct this problem? Is there a way to either find these characters and change them manually, or to add something to my code that deals with the problem?

Of course, it could be that the error is due to something else, so I am posting my code just in case. (I have tried the code with similar documents and I don't get an error. Of course they do not contain all the information that I need).

public class XSLTTransformer {
    // Global value so it can be ref'd by the tree-adapter
    static Document document;
    static String xslt = "data/output.xsl"; 
    static String xmldoc = "data/result.xml"; 

public static void main(String[] argv) {

try {
            // Use a Transformer for output
            TransformerFactory tFactory = TransformerFactory.newInstance();
            StreamSource stylesource = new StreamSource(xslt);
            Transformer transformer = tFactory.newTransformer(stylesource);

StreamSource source = new StreamSource(xmldoc);
            StreamResult result = new StreamResult(System.out);
            transformer.transform(source, result);