I've never used XML schemas before, though I know what their purpose is for. I did some research into how to write one, and I've got everything done I think. The problem is that I don't understand the purpose of a namespace, or if I even need to use one given the extremely small scope of my project. I'm not using this for some web service; its only purpose is to validate the structure of an XML document stored locally for use with an application I'm writing.

Here's my XSD file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<xs:schema id="XMLSchema1"
    targetNamespace="XMLSchema1.xsd"
    elementFormDefault="qualified"
    xmlns="XMLSchema1.xsd"
    xmlns:xs="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema"
>
  <xs:complexType name="ingredient">
    <xs:simpleContent>
      <xs:extension base="xs:string">
        <xs:attribute name="amount" type="xs:string" use="required"/>
        <xs:attribute name="format" type="xs:string"/>
        <xs:attribute name="calories" type="xs:positiveInteger"/>
        <xs:attribute name="fat" type="xs:positiveInteger"/>
        <xs:attribute name="sodium" type="xs:positiveInteger"/>
        <xs:attribute name="carbs" type="xs:positiveInteger"/>
        <xs:attribute name="protein" type="xs:positiveInteger"/>
      </xs:extension>
    </xs:simpleContent>
  </xs:complexType>

<xs:element name="recipe">
    <xs:complexType>
      <xs:sequence>
        <xs:element name="ingredient" type="ingredient" minOccurs="1" maxOccurs="unbounded"/>
        <xs:element name="step" type="xs:string" minOccurs="1" maxOccurs="unbounded"/>
        <xs:element name="tip" type="xs:string" minOccurs="0" maxOccurs="unbounded"/>
      </xs:sequence>
      <xs:attribute name="title" type="xs:string" use="required"/>
      <xs:attribute name="yield" type="xs:positiveInteger"/>
      <xs:attribute name="preptime" type="xs:string"/>
      <xs:attribute name="cooktime" type="xs:string"/>
      <xs:attribute name="description" type="xs:string"/>
    </xs:complexType>
  </xs:element>