Hi, I'm a web developer for a small company, I had programmed using ASP about six years ago, thus my skills are very rusty at the moment...recently, my boss had asked me to export the database information from the ASP pages to an Microsoft Excel file, allowing the users to save and type in the file name, if possible, can anyone offer any guidance, directions or tips in doing so...I will be greatly appreciated...thanks...

Hi,

There is a tricky way for solving your problem. If you create a HTML table which holds all the data you want to export as an excel file by writing an ASP page, and if you put the proper headers to your ASP page, your HTML table can be downloaded as an Excel file. And this excel file is nicely handled by MS Excel.

You can try the code below:

<%
Response.ContentType = "application/vnd.ms-excel"
Response.AddHeader "Content-Disposition", "filename=excelfile.xls"
%>
<table>
<tr>
<td>Category Name</td>
<td>Category Description</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Software</td>
<td>Holds data for software</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Hardware</td>
<td>Hardware related data</td>
</tr>
</table>

Thanks for your help, but I need to export the database data that is being displayed on an ASP page, to an Excel file, preferably if the filename can be entered by the user, any idea how I can do that?

Is there a predefined function or method in ASP that we can make use of?

Thanks for your time, and I will look forward to your reply...

Hi,

There is a tricky way for solving your problem. If you create a HTML table which holds all the data you want to export as an excel file by writing an ASP page, and if you put the proper headers to your ASP page, your HTML table can be downloaded as an Excel file. And this excel file is nicely handled by MS Excel.

<%
%>
<table>
<tr>
<td>Category Name</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Software</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Hardware</td>
</tr>
</table>