Hi, i am new in asp.net and i found it quiet difficult... i was programming in classic asp and sql server, but asp.net looks quiet different, specially if i do program in C# ....

Than i hase a couple of questions :

1) if i do a form with 2 textboxes and i want to check if the value of the 2 textboxes are matching with the 2 records of my database (sql server), ho can i pass this 2 value??

2) if i don't find any record in my database.. how can i check this?

3) ho can i put the value of my text box in a cookies and the value of my database in a session?

Thanks for your help

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Compare with textbox value with Database
SqlCommand cmd = new SqlCommand("SELECT * FROM Customer WHERE (CustomerID=@id AND CustomerName=@name)", connection);
cmd.Parameters.AddWithValue("@id", TextBox1.Text);
cmd.Parameters.AddWithValue("@name", TextBox2.Text);
If database record found/Not found
SqlDataReader dtr = cmd.ExecuteReader();

//If Matched with database
 if (dtr.Read())
 {
    //Your Actions
 }

//If Not Matched With database
 else
 {
    //Your Actions
 }
Creating Cookies
HttpCookie UsernameCookies = new HttpCookie("<Your Cookie names>");
UsernameCookies.Value = TextBox1.Text;

//Add the expiry date and time of the cookies. Example
//DateTime.Now.AddHours(1), after 1 hours cookies will be removed.
UsernameCookies.Expires = DateTime.Now.AddHours(1);

//Lastly, add the cookies.
Response.Cookies.Add(UsernameCookies);

I'd recommend that you take each concept seperately with regard to creating threads. Each of those items may result in tons of content and alot of follow up questions. If all of those questions are discussed in one thread, it will be difficult to follow.

I'll add some info with regard to question 1:

1) if i do a form with 2 textboxes and i want to check if the value of the 2 textboxes are matching with the 2 records of my database (sql server), ho can i pass this 2 value??