Hi everyone! I am very new to programming and SQL. I have created (designed) an application for a school project; that now needs to be coded to be functional. I have been able to pull data from SQL without a problem; however, I am stuck on inserting data into sql.

Brief synopsis of app (since i have no code for insert) a user selects a "request" type; based on that different fields appear on the page and the user has to fill in SEVERAL different fields which need to feed into SEVERAL different tables within my SQL Database. On top of this, many of the tables PK needs to auto increment when a new record is added.

Can someone please point me in the write direction? Where do I start? I am writing this in C# and need help with the code on that side along with the insert commands.

Thank you!

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Here's 2 sample ways to do it (I used two tables, each of which have a PK and either an int or an nvarchar column):
1) Have several INSERT commands that, when the form is submitted, each pick out their own data from the form and submit them. The code would look something like this:

protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
        if (Page.IsPostBack) // form submitted
        {
            SqlConnection sc = null;
            SqlCommand command = null;
            try
            {
                sc = new SqlConnection(@"Data Source=.\SQLEXPRESS;AttachDbFilename=C:\inetpub\wwwroot\foo\App_Data\Database.mdf;Integrated Security=True;User Instance=True");
                sc.Open();
                string query1 = String.Format(@"INSERT INTO Numbers(number) VALUES({0})",
                                    numberInput.Text);
                command = new SqlCommand(query1, sc);
                command.ExecuteNonQuery();
                string query2 = String.Format(@"INSERT INTO Strings(string) VALUES('{0}')",
                                    stringInput.Text);
                command = new SqlCommand(query2, sc);