Hello everybody,

I would like to start learning ColdFusion language and it is very hard to find a “teacher”. Let me explain:

I have very little experience with HTML and CSS and … that’s about it. I am surprise how hard is to find literature necessary to learn ColdFusion (for true beginners). On Amazon there are only few books and most of them are few years old (I am not sure if they are still up-to-date) and they do not have too many good reviews. Look for any other language like HTML, CSS or Java … and you’ll find tens of books. Classes are hard to find and are super expensive (hundreds to thousands of dollars just to get the basic knowledge, they say). Besides this, I will also have to look into learning how to use a data base (MS SQL, MY SQL …). Please, for those that already know how to use ColdFusion and, since you know what is needed to master the language,

What would you do? Where would you start?

Is there a prerequisite for this language?

I would go to school to get the basics … but in what?

Any suggestions, links, school names, tutorials or … anything are appreciated.

Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Sounds like troll bait.

Allow me to clarify the situation:

I do not want to start a debate about the presence or absence of sources for learning ColdFusion.
My predicament is that I do not know where to start. The rest of the info was just to let you know that I actually did some research.

I just want to get some advice from the connoisseurs … it would make my life much easier.

If you're serious, I'd choose CFWACK. They're by far the best CF book IMO. It's what I used to learn CF, combined with the examples in the online documentation.

I recommend most people take a separate course on databases. Because sql is a totally separate beast. Languages like CF, .NET, .PHP, etc... just provide the means to execute sql. You need have a basic understanding of the s-q-l language to do anything with those tools..