Greeting

When it comes to SQL I'm a novice and I think what I want to do is WAY outside my expertise. I have a file management system called ProjectWise. Everything to create the folder path is located in a single table. You start with the lowest folder then you need to find its parent. Once you've found the that parent you need to finds that folders parent and so on until you've created the entire path. I've attched an image file that shows this much better. I have no idea how to build this path with everything being in a single table. I don't mind reading I just need to be pointed in the right direction. Thank you for any help.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I was thinking you could do it by joining the table to itself. But then you have the problem of not knowing if the page you're looking up is in the 3rd or 4th level of 'childhood'.

Anyway, this is the article on joining tables and this is the article on joining a table to itself.

If you decide to work with joins, you'll end up with a query similar to this:

SELECT
 t1.filename AS file,
 t2.filename AS parent1,
 t3.filename AS parent2 FROM files AS t1
INNER JOIN
 files AS t2
 on t2.fileID = t1.parentID
INNER JOIN
 files AS t3
 on t3.fileID = t2.parentID
WHERE
 a1.fileID = 'the file you are looking for';

You'll get a table that looks like this:

FILE | PARENT1 | PARENT2
--------------------------------------------------------------------
corridor_data | bia_walden_point | alaska

*EDIT #2*
This query will work only if there are 2 parent folders... I don't know how to dynamically change the query depending on the level of the file... sorry.